All of my favorite shows ended in early May, which disappoints me to no end. I admit it, I am a TV junkie. I have shows that I watch for years on end and then am close to tears when they get cancelled. Lately I’ve been watching a lot of ABC, Style Network, Bravo and TLC shows.

Summer in TV is no longer a wasteland that it once upon a time when we had only 60 channels to choose from every night. (Sidenote: DVR changed my entire life!) I am going to share some of my top picks for summer and even though you may dismiss some of them as girly girl shows, think again. I like my television with a bit of an edge

1. Mad Men (2007) AMC Sundays

Quick synopsis: A group of men and women work at an advertising agency in the 1960s and lots of debauchery, scandal and heavy drinking/smoking occur.

Why I love it: The writing is fantastic and witty, never boring and there is always a great element of surprise and twist to each plot line. Also, the period clothing and set decoration is truly fantastic. Even if I was not alive, I still feel like I’m in the 1960s and Jackie O look alike will pop out around the corner.

Starring: Jon Hamm, January Jones, Christina Hendricks, Elisabeth Moss, John Slattery

Season 4 debuts July 25, 2010

2. Drop Dead Diva (2009) Lifetime Sundays

Drop Dead Diva quick synopsis: A beautiful blond model (Deb) dies in a car accident and comes back to life in the body of a plus sized lawyer (Jane).

Why I love it: Her adventures as Jane are hilarious and touching, because she remembers nothing about Jane’s life. She gets along in her life with the help of a guardian angel Fred, ditzy best friend Stacy and a sidesplitting performance by Margaret Cho as her assistant.

Starring: Brooke Elliot, Margaret Cho, Jackson Hurst, Kate Levering

Season 2 began in June 2010

3. Police Women of Memphis (2010) TLC Thursdays

Quick Synopsis: Four real female police officers juggle families and fighting crime in Memphis, Tennessee

Why I love it: This is the third incarnation of Police Women and each time they get better. It follows four cops( Aubrey, Joy, Virginia and Arica) in their daily routines of law enforcement and being part of a family. I do not normally like police shows but this one has a big heart and plenty of bad guys to go around. Also, Joy has a bob on one side of her head and the other side is shaved. She also has a mean alter ego named Keesha. I love her!

What are your favorite summer TV shows?

