Last night, the much anticipated and hyped episode of Saturday Night Live that I have talked about for a few months aired. Betty White hosted the sketch comedy show last night with musical guest Jay-Z. However, I never watch the musical guest so it never matters to me who is singing. Instead I fast forward my DVR right past the singing and commercials to get to the good stuff, the comedy.

As you know if you have followed this blog, I love Betty White. She is a sassy 88-year-old woman who has been on television since television has been on the air. She is not afraid to tell a good dirty joke or even resort to physical comedy at her age. So a campaign on Facebook called for SNL to have Betty host an episode this year, and it aired the night before Mother’s Day.

First of all, Betty had a great monologue.She came out in a sparkly and sassy twin set worthy of her Golden Girls co-star Rue McClanahan as Blanche Devereaux. My favorite part was her discussion of Facebook and how she came to be on the show.

Her comments on Facebook:

“When I first heard about the campaign to get me to host Saturday Night Live,I didn’t know what Facebook was,and now that I do know what it is, I have to say it sounds like a huge waste of time.”

“People say but Betty, Facebook is a good way to connect with old friends.Well at my age if I want to connect with old friends I need a Ouija board.”

Betty White’s Monologue

Also notable, a very funny mock NPR sketch with two of my other favorite funny ladies Ana Gasteyer and Molly Shannon. They resurrected their Delicious Dish sketch to feature Betty White and a few dirty jokes involving muffins and old women.

NPR: Delicious Dish

Here are a few more of my favorite picks from last night’s episode:
Update: Sally O’Malley & Dotty O’Donaghan

Census

Scared Straight

One SNL spoof commercial that appeared on the episode last night, which I could not find online was CSI:Sarasota. Betty plays Vivian Caruso, the great-aunt of David Caruso who solves crimes in a Sarasota, Florida retirement community. My particular favorite line is when the announcer mentions that she has a fanny pack full of Sweet n’Low that she stole from Denny’s.

Good job Betty! I hope you keep at it until 100!

Videos courtesy of NBC.com

