Did anyone else notice that Facebook has changed this week? Apparently Mark Zuckerberg and his company can now share a lot of your previously private information without informing you with an email or even a sticky post on their site. I periodically check my security settings because I know Facebook loves to change their policies by the day.

Facebook Glitch Brings New Privacy Worries


I could never really give up my Facebook account, I am one of those people who is inherently addicted to the social media site. I try to stay as much as I can out of search results and am very careful who I friend and who friends me. My photos and tagged photos are clean and I never update my status to my exact geographical location or wall post where I will be. Too many weird stalker like people roam the Earth and the Internet. I recently came across an article on an industry website (PR, if you did not know) called Media Buzz about 10 reason why you should delete your Facebook account. This article originally appeared on a blog called rocket.ly and is quite interesting. I will reprint the 10 reasons here, but you can also visit the blog and see author Dan Yoder’s opinions:

10. Facebook’s Terms Of Service are completely one-sided.

9. Facebook’s CEO has a documented history of unethical behavior.

8. Facebook has flat out declared war on privacy.

Update: Check out this excellent timeline from the EFF documenting the changes to Facebook’s privacy policy.

6. Facebook is a bully.

5. Even your private data is shared with applications.

4. Facebook is not technically competent enough to be trusted.

3. Facebook makes it incredibly difficult to truly delete your account.

2. Facebook doesn’t (really) support the Open Web.

1. The Facebook application itself sucks

Despite all of these reasons, I still love my Facebook. It connects me with people that I do not see on a day to day basis or perhaps those who live very far away. Long distance phone calls are expensive you know, and Skype has its limitations. Facebook consolidates all my friends into one place and basically I cannot imagine what my life was like 4 years ago before I signed up.

How do you feel about the Facebook privacy settings?


