This week I came across an interesting article from the New York Times about the new immigration legislation passed by the state of Arizona. Here is a link to the article:http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/26/us/26immig.html?scp=2&sq=arizona&st=cse. This is a highly debated topic in many national news organizations and around the United States, raising the issue of racial profiling.  President Obama has even come out and called the legislation misguided.

I’m not sure how I feel about this topic. I know illegal immigration is a large problem in border states, but I have never been personally effected by this because I live in the Northeast. I thought the NYT article linked above gave a human face to immigration, but it did not address the problems with illegal immigration in terms of tax paying and job security for citizens. I think I can see both sides of this issue, and have not come to a conclusion for myself.

