This week I began watching the AMC show Mad Men on DVD. This series chronicles the lives of the men and women who work at an advertising agency in New York City in the 1960s. The show is on hiatus and will begin its fourth season in July. I love a good television show that does not run the typical schedule of September-May because I need filler for the summer.

Anyway, I love this show! It features period costumes and set design, which are amazing. I love the suits the men wear and the dresses are phenomenal. Also, there are great mystery plotlines that feature dark secrets of an unseemly nature. It is a drama to be sure, a look inside the seemingly “perfect” family and work life of advertising executive Don Draper (played by Jon Hamm).

Don is married to former model Betty Draper, with two children and lives on Long Island. He works as the creative director at the advertising agency Sterling Cooper in New York City. All the men and women at his firm smoke and drink heavily during the day and pursue various relationships and flings with each other. He is a womanizer to be sure, but his wife does not initially suspect. Don has a deep dark secret that is revealed in the first season, but I will not spoil it for you! I have only actually watched the first season and will begin the second when I have some free time.

